The Campaign thus far

I realise that I have not updated my blog with campaign news to the same extent as I did at the previous General Election.  I also realise that I am not a Twitter user either!

By Elections are incredibly different to General Election campaigns.  The obvious difference is that there is a lot more focus on a seat at a by-election than there would be with 650 or so other constituencies having elections at the same time.  I will possibly have done half a dozen tv interviews by polling day.  This is a by-election of a very short duration and that is different to what I have experienced previously also.

I can honestly say that I am enjoying it, even though I can not shift my cough.  I am really grateful to all of those people who are helping with the campaign.  It is a by-election that no person wanted with it being caused by such sad circumstances but like the other candidates I am fighting to win.

My superb Party Chairman, Baroness Warsi, has been a number of times already.  She is excellent with people and very sound on the issues.

All candidates will be saying how they are getting a great response from the people etc but what is clear to me is that the vast majority of opinion is on the side of eliminating the deficit and balancing the books.  We need a future in this country with no deficit and much less debt!

Tags: , ,


