Tony Blair’s book

Just noticed that the former Prime Minister has cancelled a book signing for the second time.  I do not doubt any honourable intentions he may have had but I consider it bad news.

I was a strong opponent of going to war in Iraq and think it was one of his biggest mistakes as Prime Minister.  Unlike many other opponents of the war, I do not believe he held the view he did for anything other than honourable reasons.  But for this book signing not to happen is a defeat for the tens of thousands who would love to have met the former Prime Minister.  Is it the end of such Book Signings.  Can any Prime Minister serve for a few years without making very difficult or controversial decisions?

Sounds like a fascinating read!  I understand that there are regrets and wonder whether not backing Frank Field on welfare reform is one of them?

Tags:


