102 Hounslow Road, Feltham

I have received a number of emails and letters about the above property.
I know that this property was sold at an auction some time ago.  Since then there have been a number of planning applications.  Here is a list of everything in Hounslow Road:
http://planning.hounslow.gov.uk/planning_summary.aspx?strWeekListType=SRCH&strStreet=21500631&strStreetTxt=HOUNSLOW%20ROAD%20FELTHAM&strWard=ALL&strAppTyp=ALL&strWardTxt=All%20Wards&strAppTypTxt=All%20Application%20Types&strArea=ALL&strAreaTxt=All%20Areas&strLimit=250
 
And, here are links to recent applications at 102 Hounslow Road:
http://planning.hounslow.gov.uk/Planning_CaseNo.aspx?strCASENO=P/2009/1851
 
And more recently:
http://planning.hounslow.gov.uk/Planning_CaseNo.aspx?strCASENO=P/2010/0735

One of the queries I have received is whether the Local Planning Authority has allowed a Change of Use?  I was copied in on the following email on 2 September:

“Cllr Mark Bowen has asked that you be told about the lawful use situation with respect to 102 Hounslow Road, in particular relating to the three questions you put to him by your email of 24th August.
 
Planning permission is required for changes of use. However planning legislation (The Use Classes Order) groups a wide range of uses into ‘use classes’ and provides that changes of use within a use class does not need planning permission. For example, most retail uses come within Class A1 and planning permission is thereby not required to change, for instance from a shoe shop to a grocer. Use class D1 includes a wide range of ‘non-residential institutional uses such as a museum, a doctors surgery, a day nursery and places of worship. Planning permission was granted for a day nursery in 1967 and this remains the lawful planning use of the premises. The current use is also a class D1 use so does not need planning permission. There were no conditions restricting the 1967 use so the current use is similarly unrestricted. All this means that the existing use of the existing premises can not be controlled under planning law.

Pavement parking is possibly something that could be controlled under highways legislation and noise pollution could be an issue. Both, I understand, would be likely to be difficult but I have asked relevant officers to let you, and Cllr Bowen, know what might be possible.”

I thought it would be helpful to place this on the blog.  I will post any further updates I receive.

Advertisements

Tags: ,

38 Responses to “102 Hounslow Road, Feltham”

  1. Mark Savage Says:

    It’s interesting Mark, that you seem to be somewhat reluctant in this posting to disclose what 102 Hounslow Road is actually being used for. Many like me, I suspect, will have known nothing of it until now- it certainly hasn’t been covered in the local press. I knew nothing of this myself, until my brother mentioned it recently, though I had noticed a lot of building work going on.

    I’m sure I’m not the only one to be astounded that existing planning laws allow the owner of a property to make such changes in this way. Surely, the hours of use of a place of worship are likely to be wildly different to that of a Doctor’s Surgery (of which, actually, there is one situated just two doors north of 102). Great time and comment was put to avoid a similar development in Hanworth in the former Job’s Dairy social club; why on earth has there not been an opportunity for similar discussion of 102 Hounslow Road? If the local planning authority, i.e. Hounslow Council, have their hands tied, then surely somebody should be making the case for revision of Classes of Use at national level?

    The property may well have been sold at auction recently -but for over 20 years, probably nearer thirty, these premises were used first as a council-run Day Nurserty and, apparently, as a Women’s refuge too later on. Indeed, I understood that the property had been sold as a job lot with the former Eldridge House- also a council property. In other words, it was the council itself that sold these properties. Did they not have some say in how they were to be used? I understood a care home was planned for number 102- I certainly remember seeing a planning application notice to that extent opposite.

    Bearing in mind the council’s former involvement with both of these properties, and with the concerns about parking being paramount, should there not be a serious enquiry at the highest level into how this change of use, to become a place of worship (apparently) could have taken place so easily?

    One cannot and should not have objections to the LOCAL Muslim community having a place for prayer and worship any more than any other worshipping community, but I’m somewhat astounded that this property could so easily have been converted where other properties haven’t, given all other considerations not least parking.

    As a resident of a nearby street, however, I would be seriously concerned if the council can have no control whatever over the numbers using this building and more particularly the numbers parking on the nearest residential road (Carlton Avenue), or else causing serious hazards to traffic at this location, already very busy and difficult to turn into from the service road at peak hours. Don’t even the Metropolitan Police have a say in this?

    I hope you can do some further investigation, Mark, and report back as a matter of urgency.

  2. Mark Bowen Says:

    “It’s interesting Mark, that you seem to be somewhat reluctant in this posting to disclose what 102 Hounslow Road is actually being used for.”

    This is a totally unfair and unfounded remark.

    “I’m sure I’m not the only one to be astounded that existing planning laws allow the owner of a property to make such changes in this way. Surely, the hours of use of a place of worship are likely to be wildly different to that of a Doctor’s Surgery (of which, actually, there is one situated just two doors north of 102). Great time and comment was put to avoid a similar development in Hanworth in the former Job’s Dairy social club; why on earth has there not been an opportunity for similar discussion of 102 Hounslow Road? If the local planning authority, i.e. Hounslow Council, have their hands tied, then surely somebody should be making the case for revision of Classes of Use at national level?”

    The purpose of the posting was to make constituents aware of what I have been informed thus far.

    “The property may well have been sold at auction recently -but for over 20 years, probably nearer thirty, these premises were used first as a council-run Day Nurserty and, apparently, as a Women’s refuge too later on. Indeed, I understood that the property had been sold as a job lot with the former Eldridge House- also a council property. In other words, it was the council itself that sold these properties. Did they not have some say in how they were to be used? I understood a care home was planned for number 102- I certainly remember seeing a planning application notice to that extent opposite.”

    As I pointed out in my posting, applications were necessary for 102 also. But a Change of Use was not necessary. I will find out whether they were sold as a package. I think it was mooted but not sure whether that was the outcome?

    “One cannot and should not have objections to the LOCAL Muslim community having a place for prayer and worship any more than any other worshipping community, but I’m somewhat astounded that this property could so easily have been converted where other properties haven’t, given all other considerations not least parking.”

    A Planning Authority can only act within its powers.

    “As a resident of a nearby street, however, I would be seriously concerned if the council can have no control whatever over the numbers using this building and more particularly the numbers parking on the nearest residential road (Carlton Avenue), or else causing serious hazards to traffic at this location, already very busy and difficult to turn into from the service road at peak hours. Don’t even the Metropolitan Police have a say in this?”

    I have said I will post further updates.

  3. Mark Savage Says:

    “It’s interesting Mark, that you seem to be somewhat reluctant in this posting to disclose what 102 Hounslow Road is actually being used for.”

    [ MB] This is a totally unfair and unfounded remark.

    Sorry, Mark, you seem to have inferred criticism of you, where I meant none at all! I’m not out to get you- though sometimes you do seem to think I am with my comments! I’m a constituent of yours who assumes, perhaps wrongly, that you are likely to be more on the ball with local events than many of us.

    All I was pointing out is that many of your readers may be unaware what this posting was all about. It would have been good to head the story with a bit more background, rather than just a complext link through the planning applications process, for their/our benefit.

    It’s not immediately apparent from what you wrote, or from what has (not) so far appeared in the local press, that a Muslim facility of some description, which some are describing as a mosque, appears to have started at 102. As I say, I knew nothing about this at all until my brother mentioned it, whereas I am normally very observant and, of course, pass that spot regularly as I live nearby.

    Some people are in this day and age, sadly, reluctant to mention anything to do with Islam for fear that to do so might invite problems, but I’m certainly not saying that you are one of them.

    Once again, sorry if I’ve been misunderstood. I look forward to any updates.

    • Mark Bowen Says:

      “I’m not out to get you- though sometimes you do seem to think I am with my comments! ”

      I believe my record proves that whatever individual constituents think of me, I do my very best for them and the area.

  4. Mark Savage Says:

    On the broader question of local authority planning powers, however, why should not Hounslow, or indeed any other local authority, be able to raise matters of concern like this or anomalies in the system? After all, the present coalition seem very keen indeed to get the public- and by extension perhaps local authorities- to get ‘bad’ legislation amended, or un-necessary laws changed.

  5. Gaham de wey peters Says:

    Well it’s going to be a Mosque , there you are said it , more chaos on a Friday prayer session , but that doesn’t surprise me , as this Borough has a tendency to help out the so called ethnic minorites , perhaps Mark you could concerntrate some of your energies on the Feltham Arena debacle !!!! , but NO , i think that one will open up a few more cans of worms that you and the Council would like , it takes an old man that is having treatment for Cancer to have a one man protest , and get the work stopped , perhaps you will only notice it once it can be viewed from your house ……………

  6. Mark Bowen Says:

    “as this Borough has a tendency to help out the so called ethnic minorites”

    I do not think that is relevant in the context of the ‘Change of Use’ enquiries I have received.

    “perhaps Mark you could concerntrate some of your energies on the Feltham Arena debacle !!!! , but NO”

    I have no idea why you have such a lack of confidence in me to make this assumption? There are things going on and I am being kept informed. My latest email was sent to Officers only yesterday.

    “perhaps you will only notice it once it can be viewed from your house”

    I have no idea why you are personally attacking me in this way?

  7. Gaham de wey peters Says:

    I’m not ” attacking ” you at all Mark , if i was i would be banging on your door !! , if you can’t take some sort of critisim about an area that is less than 400 metres from your door , and some serious issues about soil contamination ,thats not my problem , how about calling for an inspection in to the type of soil that has been dumped there !!! and telling the residents of your ward whats going on at the Arena ????, and who’s actually getting the £120 per load ( each lorry ) and then i might start to calm down ………

    • Mark Bowen Says:

      We will have to agree to disagree on the first bit. You brought my house into the equation and made some incorrect assumptions about what I have done (or not). I am disappointed by this as I am always courteous towards you and respond promptly when you contact me.

      I have no issue with questions or exposure but do not believe that what you said was necessary.

      “some serious issues about soil contamination ,thats not my problem , how about calling for an inspection in to the type of soil that has been dumped there”

      Do you have any evidence that any soil is contaminated? Do you have any evidence that inspections have not taken place? I put these questions to you as there is considerable certainty in what you say, just as you were about none of my energies being focused on this issue.

      “and telling the residents of your ward whats going on at the Arena ????, ”

      I have posted about the Arena previously (and one is overdue) and always responded to emails.

      “and who’s actually getting the £120 per load”

      I am not certain about the amount of money but people connected with Feltham Football Club are involved and money will be ploughed back into facility so that the Football Club can return and hopefully other users also.

      It is not my style to regulate comments received but would respectfully point out that this is off topic in terms of the current thread.

  8. Gaham de wey peters Says:

    “and who’s actually getting the £120 per load”

    I am not certain about the amount of money but people connected with Feltham Football Club are involved and money will be ploughed back into facility so that the Football Club can return and hopefully other users also.
    Well we should get something like the Emirates Stadium then , off thread again ….

  9. Robert Mould Says:

    Iam a local resdent behind the property of 102 hounslow road.We and other residents have had nothing but grief for months from the people opening up an islamic relief society community centre.
    They have been parking in the side road that leads to eldridge house at 9.30 at night nearly every night and leaving at 3am! with constant noise a tannoy system in there, people reving cars congregating outside.fights etc which has been kepping us awake most of the night.
    They light bonfires and burn sofas, plastics etc.
    we have complained several times to Alan keen and the council who seem to have allowed this to happen.no residents were told that it would be a mosque and where are they all gonna park? thats why planning permission was turned down.Has the council now decided to support peolpe other than their constituents as these people live in greenford.

    We are appalled at this and when the building work is finished it will have a devastating imapact on the community as there will be hundres of people there every day! this must be stopped so familes and residents can get some peace before it gets out of hand.this should never have been or be allowed on this site.

    • Mark Bowen Says:

      Thank you for your post. Your comment is the first I have received indicating that problems have continued since the end of Ramadan.

      There are a number of issues that you have raised that I would like to take up on your behalf. Please email me directly. In view of these, I am surprised that you have not contacted your local Councillors before now.

      In the meantime, I think that my posting explains that the Council did not “allow” a mosque. A Change of Use was not required in planning terms so in that sense there was no decision for Hounslow to make.

  10. Robert Mould Says:

    Thank you Mark.

    my apologies for not contacting you before but the situation had elevated to the extent where we were told by police to contact the MP.
    Anyway i can send you documents that we sent to the council regarding the objection of the propsed planning etc. i will email them directly to you as we are all very concerned over this issue and i see many other residents are too.

  11. Mark Bowen Says:

    Here is one response I received:

    “I refer to the complaint you received regarding the use of 102 Hounslow Road. I will comment on the parking issues, which I understand as being the placing of cones on Hounslow Road opposite the property during gatherings at the house, and parking on the footway in the access road leading to Eldridge House.

    Whilst the placing of cones has not been authorised by the Council and is therefore not permitted, I presume this is done in order to reduce congestion and to maintain access at the junction. This being the case, and we will confirm this by visiting the location on a Friday evening, we will look at the option of introducing ‘double yellow lines’ at the junction.

    The road leading to Eldridge House is ‘private’ and I regret therefore that we are unable to assist with the reported obstructive parking complaint.”

  12. Robert Mould Says:

    Today i have recieved a reply from the Mp alan keen and the council.
    !02 hounslow road is being set up as a Mosque!! They confirm this.

    They also say that when the noise pollution went there there were no disturbances.So that means all residents who have complained are telling lies.We are not and i object to be kept awake at night till 3 in the morning kepeing small children awake too.
    The noise pollution people never attended this site as we have had no contact from them.has anyone else in the vicinity?So best to keep putting your objections in the eform when it all kicks off at the next festival in a week or so.

  13. Robert Mould Says:

    Also where do all the people who will be going there intend to park?

  14. Mark Savage Says:

    I agree with some of Robert’s concerns, and remain frustrated that this matter seems to be receiving so little attention elsewhere.

    I am a resident of nearby Carlton Avenue, and am extremely concerned about the knock-on parking issues in our road if this Islamic Welfare Centre (it’s important to stress that- it’s not the same as a mosque). If this centre is to be open long hours, day and night, it is likely to cause considerably more noise than before, let alone the parking issues. Surely the council must have some powers to do something about that.

    At the same time, problems and tensions between communities so often and easily arise through lack of knowlede or understanding. Robert mentions “the next festival in a week or so, but to the best of my knowledge the only festival that weekend is our own “Bonfire Night”- which just happens to co-incide thie year with Diwali, a Hindu NOT a Muslim festival.

  15. Robert Mould Says:

    Mark i ment to say that in the coming weeks ther are three muslim Festivals coming up.

    The noise pollution team did not want to know before when many residents complained. Therefore the parking and 24 hour prospect is looking very very bad for us residents.
    The council has a duty to support local residents on this but it seems that we are not with the exception of Mr Bowen.
    The owners of this property live in greenford so are not local residents!!

  16. Robert Mould Says:

    I understand that the re builkd of eldridge house is starting soon as the owner told me yesterday.
    What a great idea to build a mosque at the end of the Road leading to a high intensive care home.

    No one has yet answered about the parking issues why?
    Also after several more noise complaints we have still not been contacted by noise pollution.
    So the council said in their letter to me that they have been out previously and there was no noise to report.When was this? and its proof now that they havent bothered.
    Well i look forward to seeing what happens when the Mosque opens and it is utter chaos out there everyday.

    • Mark Bowen Says:

      You and I have exchanged a number of emails recently and I have responded promptly and answered everything question where I know the answer.

      I have also given advice on the issues, which you recently accepted.

      “Also after several more noise complaints we have still not been contacted by noise pollution.”

      I think that the eForms were raised in the past few days. As soon as you gave me the reference numbers, I asked to be kept informed by the team. I recommend giving them 10 working days before they respond.

      It is important that everyone continues to be pro-active here.

  17. Robert Mould Says:

    Mrk why 10 days for them to respond?
    thats really really poor.they should act immediately.

    • Mark Bowen Says:

      Here are the customer service standards. It is always a difficult starting point to suggest that a specific case should not be subject to the standards for everyone else. Of course, there are things that can be done when a matter is more immediate and urgent e.g. out of hours number (020 8 583 2222).

      The good news from my perspective is that a number of residents are now using the relevant eForms.

  18. Robert Mould Says:

    I recievd this today.i have never heard so much rubbish inall my life.this is how the council looks after its residents!!!
    I posted a reply which staes that this is not helping anyone in anyway exept the owners of the MOSQUE!!
    I never sent any email by the way.
    Thank you for your email dated 20th October 2010.

    I have been liaising with the relevant council departments to provide a response to the concerns outlined within your correspondence.

    You state that the Noise Pollution team never arrived when complaints were made and never made any contact. The Noise Pollution team have confirmed that all residents who complained were written to and advised to keep logs of the disturbance they were suffering and that the return of the completed log sheet within three weeks from the date of the letter will result in their complaints being fully investigated and a case Officer would be allocated to their complaint. They were also advised that if the completed log sheet is not returned within three weeks from the date of this letter it will be assumed that the nuisance has ceased, their case would be closed and the Department would take no further action with regard to the matter.

    Additionally, all residents were advised that the Noise Team currently operates on Friday and Saturday nights between 10.00pm and 4.00am and that they could contact the Officers on duty via the Emergency Telephone Operator on 020 8583 2222. If nuisance occurs during these hours, the Team will visit them if nuisance is still occurring in an effort to witness nuisance and the subsequent service of a statutory notice. No resident has contacted the Noise Team regarding problems that they are experiencing with the site.

    The Team has limited resources and our out of hours service is targeted to the times when the majority of requests for service are received which is Friday and Saturday nights. In addition to this we provide an extended service over the Christmas and New Year period which is a time residents are disturbed by noise nuisance and in particular car and house alarms which have the potential to disturb a significant number of residents. In relation to existing ongoing investigations if we are aware that for example a resident is suffering noise nuisance at 11.00pm on a Thursday night we can arrange to visit at that time in an effort to witness nuisance and if necessary the service of an abatement notice. In addition to this when we are aware of an event which has the potential to cause noise nuisance we discuss the impact with the organiser and ensure appropriate measures are taken to ensure residents are not disturbed by the event. It therefore remains the responsibility for residents to complete and return accurate log sheets in order for an out of hours visit to be undertaken.

    The Noise Team made two programmed visits to site after residents first complained and did not witness nuisance on either occasion and will continue to investigate and further allegations received concerning the premises and can be contacted on either 020 8583 2222 , by e-mail at pollution@hounslow.gov.uk and residents can contact the Noise Team either on Friday or Saturday night between 10.00pm and 4.00am on 020 8583 2222.

    With reference to your point made regarding enforcement of double yellow lines, the Traffic Team will investigate the option of introducing ‘yellow line’ waiting restrictions in the area to help address the reported complaints of obstructive and indiscriminate parking. The investigation will entail the monitoring of parking activity before, during and after prayer times at the mosque to establish where there are increases in parking activity and, hence, the locations of restrictions and the times during which these should apply.

    In addition, the team will look at accident records in the immediate vicinity of the mosque and will prioritise ameliorative measures if a high occurrence of accidents is identified. It is also the view of engineers that the mosque should be encouraged to develop a Travel Plan for attendees, similar to those adopted by other mosques in the borough.

    In relation to planning permission, this is required for changes of use. However planning legislation (The Use Classes Order) groups a wide range of uses into ‘use classes’ and provides that changes of use within a use class does not need planning permission. For example, most retail uses come within Class A1 and planning permission is thereby not required to change, for instance from a shoe shop to a grocer. Use class D1 includes a wide range of ‘non-residential institutional uses such as a museum, a doctors surgery, a day nursery and places of worship. Planning permission was granted for a day nursery in 1967 and this remains the lawful planning use of the premises. The current use is also a class D1 use so does not need planning permission. There were no conditions restricting the 1967 use so the current use is similarly unrestricted. All this means that the existing use of the existing premises can not be controlled under planning law. Planning permission was refused for a proposal to extend 102 Hounslow Road for use as a Mosque. Planning permission was needed due to the extension. The current situation is that the use has been changed without involving an extension.

    I trust this answers your points raised. If you need further clarification on any of the above, please do not hesitate to contact me at environmentcomplaints@hounslow.gov.uk

    Kind regards,

    Customer Relations
    Business Support
    Environment Department
    London Borough of Hounslow

    w: http://www.hounslow.gov.uk/index/online_forms.htm

    Quality Services, Customer Focused, Flexible Resourcing and Value for Money

  19. Robert Mould Says:

    As you see in one sentence they say no residents contacted the noise team about this site.Next they say they recieved complaints and went to investigate!!
    i THINK DATES AND TIMES WHEN THEY WENT WOUILD BE AGOOD IDEA.

    If there was no noise why did many residents complain?

  20. Robert Mould Says:

    Eldridge House

    Work has commenced on demolishing this site today.

    Signs have been put up at the front of the slip road and on gates to the property informing of this.

  21. Dan Shaw Says:

    I have been told by the Mosque owners that this place is not going to be used for a Friday Prayers which is the major one because of the large number of people and that the venue is not suitable for it, and also this venue is solely for minor 5 times prayers a day where you likely get 20 to 30 people attending if not less, and it is also going to be used as an Arabic Language school for Muslim children. I don’t really see where the big fuss. I think whoever is complaining should just be honest and say ” I don’t want a Mosque near me ” instead of using all sort of excuses Noise, Parking… Etc..
    Wake up People , it’s 2010 People are not stupid.

  22. Robert Mould Says:

    When you have been kept a wake night after night with only a few hours sleep beacuse of whats going on there shouting over atannoy system. cars revving all this happening from 9.30pm till 4.30am outside your bedroom window then i think you will get upset!

    • Dan Shaw Says:

      Rob, have you approached this people and told them about all these issues, surely they must take them into account and do something. I have noticed that no one has actually approached and spoke to these lot.

    • Abu Ayesha Says:

      Rob, this is a totally absurd accusation. I don’t know what prayer lasts from 9.30pm to 4.30am continuously, night after night. Unfortunately it does sound like you have deeper issues then just simply parking issues and noise problems. If there was a problem with cars revving on the road or people shouting on the streets then you should have reported it to the Police. Just be straight with us don’t hide behind issues of parking and noise just be honest and say you are unhappy that it’s going to be a Mosque.

  23. Sara B Says:

    I have read the following conversation and I do not like some of the things that have been said. Because we are in the 21st century and people are still acting and thinking this way. I also live near to 102 Hounslow road. And to be honest I have not been hearing any noises what so ever. I have recently spoke to the owners of this premisses and they were very friendly and calm about the situation. They took me in to see what they were working on. I have kept an eye on them and I have seen that they leave the house at 5.30pm maximum and start in the morning at 8.30am. which is very reasonable. Also Gaham de wey peters you have no prove that they stay up to 3.00am and over that is very unfair! So before you make conclusions make sure everything you say is true because I have seen what they are working on with my own eyes and they have proved you wrong.

    • Mark Bowen Says:

      Sara,

      Welcome to the blog. As you will see, I allow all comments through (with one exception on a different thread a while ago), unless the comments are spam.
      Please continue to post comments.

      Mark.

  24. Aziz Says:

    Dear all,
    I have been reading the neighbours’ comments about 102 Hounslow Rd, and I am really astonished and sad at the same time. They say that they are experiencing noise each night from 9.30 pm till 4.40 am, people parking everywhere, shouting and fighting outside the neighbours houses. It is completely wrong and a pure lie. I am one of the trustees, we are a civilised and responsible persons, the only time where we held night prayers was during our fasting month and it was only a periode of 3 weeks. Before starting the prayers we started by informing the Police about our program and took all the measures to avoid any nuisance or disturbance to our neighbours. We started by puting our own cones around our property to avoid parking and blocking our neighbours drive ways, and each night we had 2 persons standing outside the door asking the worshipers to leave quietely and not to stand outside. We also made sure all the noise in not heard from outside, by closing all windows. So we did pray there from the 25th of August to the 17 of September, and since then not a single gathering took place, as the building work was still on. Just to inform our neighbours and the Councillors, that we have a 24 hour CCTV records inside and outside our premises, anyone who wants to have a look is more than welcomed. I also want to assure our neighbours that there will never be a Friday prayer gathering in these premises, because the place is far too small and without a large car park it’s not faisable. We know precisely who is complaining all the time, and this close neighbour was phoning the Council and the police all the time under different names, and insiting other neighbours to do so. But the Council officers and the Police are not stupid they quickly found out and understood what’s happening. Few neighbours are wrongly exagerating and dramatising about what is happening and wahat will happen in the future with a pure intention to scare the neighbours around 102 Hounslow Road.
    Best regards to all

  25. Abu Ayesha Says:

    Dear Councillor. I think it’s a shame that allegations of noise disturbances have been made about the proposed Mosque at 102 Hounslow Road. I live in close proximity of the Mosque and I have not heard any unreasonable levels of noise. The builders work within the specified time requirements and clear up before they go. I also approached the Mosque committee member who was around one morning and they were overjoyed that I had shown an interest in what was going on. They gave me a tour of the site and explained their plans. I do feel that the response of some of the local community is unfair and uncalled for and if there are issues to do with noise then these need to be directed at the local authority’s noise team who I am sure will investigate the matter. A more important point I would like to make is what happened to innocent until proven guilty…the mosque is not even in operation and already fingers are being pointed. The Borough has a large number of Muslims who work, reside or pass through the town and it’s important that we cater for their needs.

    • Mark Bowen Says:

      Abu,

      Welcome to the blog.
      My role is to assist all constituents when they approach me with Council related issues. I have suggested to all residents who have concerns about noise that they should use the relevant eForm on the Council website and then use their log sheets. Officers can then investigate and come to a fair judgement to all parties.

      I too hope to look around when complete.

  26. Sabrina Sorel Says:

    Having read the above comments it is obvious that they are written out of hate against the Muslim community which is very sad indeed.
    I’m not going to go in much details about the noise pollution because it is untrue…or else the authorities would have done something about it….
    they obviously know that the allegation are just made out of hate…just like Dan said people are not stupid…

    I know the people/owners of the property they are very understanding and if you have any concerns you should speak to them and not make comments behind their backs

    can I also mention that the Muslim community are very understanding and considerate. Neighbours are very important and respected to them. Do talk to them to resolve this matter.

    • Mark Bowen Says:

      Thank you for your posting and welcome to the blog.
      If you have any evidence of hate, I would wish to disassociate myself from it. Thus far, none of the constituents I have spoken with, have demonstrated views that would cause you and I concern.

  27. michael phillips Says:

    Having read the above comments , i am astounded at how people are stating that basically the residents that are complaining about 102 hounslow road are basically being racist about what the property is being used for , i am 1 of the residents to which you are refering too and can tell you here and now that not only i , but many of the other residents involved in this matter have many friends in the muslim comunity as well as the asian comunities in whole , myself being born and raised in southall ,

    this is not a racial issue , this is an issue dealing with the constant noise that occured many weeks ago during ramadan , to which many complaints were made , i do believe the total amounted to about 24 or 25 complaints made not 4 , and our concerns at how often it will occur when the organisation moves in when all things are completed

    , recordings of the noise of the tannoy system being used with windows open were made at the time and i do believe that it is against the law to have tannoy systems in properties like this , notes with times and dates recorded , pictures taken of all the cars that were parking up from early in the evening to the small hrs of the morning taken some parked up on a private road in 2’s , car doors banging and men from the organisation constantly talking loudly for all to hear late at night and early am always waking my 4 year old daughter up which then means my wife is awake for the rest of the evening leaving her exhausted through the day , ( now i ask all who read this ” is that fair ” ) is it also fair that when i go out to confront the people from 102 hounslow road and ask them nicely not nastily to keep the noise down as my daughter is asleep in the room above that i get told to go away and mind my own business or to go back inside my own house , being spoken to like i do not exist is not on really is it ?

    These things need to be addressed and before anyone kicks off about the tannoy system in the next blog , please take note that one of the above organisation has addmitted to the hounslow chronicle that this system is installed in the property and it is printed for all to see on page 1 .

    Many thanks for your time

Comments are closed.


%d bloggers like this: