Back to the blog

Sorry that I have not been updating this blog for a while.  No election has ever taken as much out of me as the most recent ones so I am slowly working up some more energy.

Much has happened over the past few weeks:

Conservative/Lib-Dem coalition
There are a wide range of opinions about the above.  Overall, I have been very impressed.  At the General Election, I was clear that my top two priorities were to deal with the deficit and to start controlling immigration.  Both of these are part of the Government’s agenda so I am pleased.  A recent front page article in the Indepdent highlighted just how massive a problem the budget deficit is.  I know that many people can be cynical about politicians but what I have seen are two different parties making compromises and trying to form a stable government.  I believe that this Government will last.

David Laws resignation
This represents a major loss to the Government.  I have always found him to be very talented and perfect for the role that he was given in Government.  His performance in Parliament a few days ago was brilliant.

New Council
The AGM was held last week.  Councillor Jagdish Sharma was confirmed as the Leader of the Council.  I recognised the decision taken by most in the Borough and the Conservative Group supported his nomination.

I have been impressed with the approach taken by the Labour Group, as compared to its approach between 2002 and 2006.  I have found them to be very reasonable in our discussions so far.  When this is the case, I will give them credit.

I am adjusting to new circumstances and have gone back to my job full-time.  Before the elections, I did not think I would end up where I am now but will give this my best shot.  As always, representing Feltham North will come first.

I will start to update my blog more regularly.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Back to the blog”

  1. Peter Ajibola Says:

    Nice to read that you are back! I hope you have recuperated somewhat. Onwards and upwards.

    Shame your link from the Conservative Website which I had added has been severed! I wish I could say I have been impressed as you appear to have been. I have been much underwhelmed. Our leader and Prime Minister does not seem to display the appropriate level of regret for not having achieved a majority. I find that somewhat unnerving. Besides his treatment of Chris Grayling is revealing. I hope the coalition endures all the same.

Comments are closed.


