Statement of Persons Nominated (General Election)

Here it is.  My initial reaction is:

  1. Three of the ten candidates live in this constituency;
  2. There were only seven candidates last time and I think that three of those lived in the constituency;
  3. I am surprised to see no English Democrat candidate as one was predicted and the man who was named lives in the constituency – Roger Cooper is still named as a candidate on their website;
  4. Three of the candidates live in the Twickenham constituency;
  5. The only candidates to have worked the entire constituency thus far has been Elizabeth Anstis (her election address has gone out), Alan Keen (lots of national stuff that would have gone out in other constituencies) and I;
  6. Elizabeth Anstis fought this seat last time, as I did.  Her and I got on very well at a personal level;
  7. My choice is the second candidate on the list and I think that he can win 😉
Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Statement of Persons Nominated (General Election)”

  1. Graham de wey peters Says:

    Good luck Mark , though not saying that your getting my vote (yet ), but good luck anyway .

  2. Mark Savage Says:

    I second that, Graham- and likewise on the vote. Compared to some other partys’ efforts at communicating with their would-be constituents or ward residents, Mark is literally streets ahead in content and distribution.

    Basically, he takes both the general and local elections seriously- which is how it should be.

    Keep up the good work, Mr B!

  3. Matt Says:

    Mr Bowen, I’ve been a local resident all my life, though I’m new to this blog, and I’ve been very impressed with the communication from the Conservative party for recent local elections and the national election coming up. Let’s just say this will have a bearing on how I will vote now!

    Mark Savage, I could not agree with you more regarding the communication or lack of from the other parties in Feltham and Heston. Perhaps you can exclude Labour in this but I think most people have had enough with Mr Keen anyway. I live in lower Feltham and I know a lot of people around this area who are seriously considering voting for the Liberal Democrats, not just because of the recent TV debates!, however are being discouraged to do so because of the lack of communication from the Liberal Democrat candidate. I can’t remember the last time I received a leaflet from the Lib Dems for the local and national elections that have taken place in recent years (I don’t think I ever have) and I have certainly have not seen them canvassing the opinions of local residents around lower Feltham recently. Maybe this will change, there are 2 weeks to go yet, though I don’t hold my breath. I can understand the reasons for this (financial resources of the party, the area not being a Lib Dem target seat, major swing needed etc..) but most lib/con swing voters in Feltham (and there are a few!) will not appreciate this and I think they will turn to the Conservatives once again or not vote at all. They are missing an opportunity in Lower Feltham.

    Anyway I wish Mark Bowen the very best of luck in being elected.

  4. Mark Bowen Says:

    Thank you all for your comments. I will do all I can over the next weeks to try and persuade you and other residents that I am the best choice to be the MP for this constituency.

    Matt,

    Welcome to the blog!
    In terms of the other parties, I expect you will receive an Election Address through the Royal Mail.

  5. Gaham de wey peters Says:

    Taliking about the Lib Dem’s , i was speaking to one of the workman that was busy trying to clean up the Feltham Arena’s car park , when he got chatting to two Lib Dem Councillors that were delivering leaflets in Ruskin Ave , they were shocked at the state of the Arena and surrounding area’s , they thought that the work on the Arena had been signed off ages ago !!!!!!!!! , nice to see people up to date on these matter’s ………………….

Comments are closed.


