Faggs Road this morning

I thought I would take some pictures now that the road is back open.

And, the resurfacing looks very good:

I will report the following post being in the position that it is:

A sweep is required on the footway between the house called “Blenheim” and the Green Man Pub:

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Faggs Road this morning”

  1. Mark Savage Says:

    Regarding Blenheim, I have recently read of a suggestion by an expert (apparently) that this could be the oldest house in Middlesex!

    If this is the case, it is very sad that it is so sorely neglected. and I am really surprised the council appear to have done nothing to champion it or preserve it. I hope the next administration might do so, as along with The Green Man, this is one of several characterful buildings in Hatton. This is, after all, the gateway to the borough since Hillingdon pinched our territory along the Great South West Road!

  2. Mark Bowen Says:

    When I was first elected, I considered this to be my favourite property in Feltham North (it had just come into the ward from what was East Bedfont) so I am also very sad at its current state.

    Do you know what powers could be used to improve matters? I am no expert but I think that the propsect of an application for either an Empty Dwelling Management Order or a Compulsory Purchase Order being accepted would not be likely. If you have anything else in mind, I will be happy to raise this with the relevant team at the Council.

    I have noticed people outside the property.

  3. Mark Savage Says:

    I wonder whether approaching English Heritage about it would be the best first approach. As you will know, Mark, several buildings in the borough are on their “at risk” register; I don’t know whether ‘Blenheim’ is, but perhaps it should be. Maybe that might also be a way to help secure funding?

    I wish that I’d taken the option “The Making of the British Landscape” as part of my History degree at Cardiff now (rather than “Britain and the Integration of Europe, which was indescribably boring 🙂 ). That might have given me more of a grounding in the powers used to preserve historic buildings. I shall try to investigate this more with the Feltham History Group.

Comments are closed.


