Visit from Baroness Thatcher

On Saturday afternoon, I was fortunate enough to be present when Margaret Thatcher paid the Borough a visit.  I have never seen so many people so thrilled to be visited by someone.  I realise that most were Conservatives but the point is one worth making.

She did not give a speech because she is no longer allowed to but she did give Mary MacLeod and I some advice for the future.

I could not help but wonder what my Paternal Grandfather would have thought about me meeting Margaret Thatcher?  He and I were very close and the one thing he had against me was that I shared the same birthday as her.  I too did not grow up appreciating her policies but her contribution was not only necessary but my parents bought their Council House (which they still live in) and my father was able to acquire shares in British Steel (his then employer).  I said a few words after she left and referred to some of this.

The legacy for the next Government in some respects is worse than what she inherited.  The debt situation obviously stands out but disengagement is at a record high.

Anyway, here are a couple of pictures:

And, here is a picture of Councillor Pam Fisher asking Margaret Thatcher a question and both Mary and I listening eagerly:

What a day – one I will never forget.  It was extremely kind of her to give up her time and I feel privileged to have been part of it.  And to top it all off, I got to catch the second half (and a couple of pints of Brains) at London Welsh.

Tags: , ,


