Michael Foot

I have watched some of the coverage of Michael Foot following his passing.  Whilst I am glad that he never became Prime Minister in this country, I know that my Grandfather would never have had a bad word said against him.  My grandfather took the view that Michael Foot was a good and honest man as well as having the right ideas.  I certainly agree that Michael Foot came across as a very decent matter and I enjoy watching footage of him speaking at Party Conferences, Public Meetings and Parliament etc.  He had a wonderful sense of humour and I find sincerity very endearing.

I would like to have known what he thought about his former Ebbw Vale (now Blaenau Gwent) constituency no longer having a Labour MP?  It would have been seen as impossible 10 or so years ago.  What caused Labour to lose that seat could be repeated in neighbouring Islwyn (formerly Neil Kinnock’s constituency)?

Tags: , , ,


