Second home profits

This will go down well with most people.   When it essential for MPs to have a second property to do their jobs, I have no problem.  I can also defend rent-free etc.  But I do have a problem with nest eggs for the future.

For the future, I hope to see:

  • No second property – funded by the taxpayer – for London MPs
  • No prospect of second home profits

One way to deliver the above is for the State to purchase 500 or so flats and for these to be let to MPs – who have a genuine need – and when that MP loses their seat or retires, it is re-let to another MP.  The use of lower cost hotels is also another option.  Some cost/benefit analysis would determine the best way forward.

I do not think using the Olympic village is a good idea.

Tags:


