Two local articles from last week

Here are a couple of stories where I was asked for comment last week:

Attempt to return Messrs Chatt & Ellar to the Council
The Regional Labour Party has decided that the above should be candidates at the local elections in the Cranford & Hounslow Heath wards respectively.  I wonder whether Mr Ellar recalls me predicting (wrongly) that he would chicken run before the 2006 from Hanworth Park to Hounslow Heath?  At least now, I am only wrong on the timing.
My view is that these two wards, especially Cranford, will be more interesting than in a generation.  Labour will not be able to take it for granted and they are wrong if they think that either of these are safe.
It is pretty well known that I am not great pals with either of the above but I make no apology for remaining appalled by what I saw during their times as Leader of the Council between 2002 & 2006.  The Borough Council Meetings at the time were a shambles whereby the majority of Executive Members were unable to answer legitimate questions put to them.  The amount of things we [as an administration] have turned around since also highlights that the legacy we inherited was not great (lots more things to improve for the next administration but the legacy they will inherit is, on the whole, is a very good one and brilliant in some cases).  This all makes these two wards even more important when the campaign gets underway.

My view on the promotions of booze in pubs
I have commented on this issue previously so this will not surprise too many people.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Two local articles from last week”

  1. Phil Andrews Says:

    I understand that another former councillor, Corinna Smart, has been selected to run in Hounslow Heath. I can’t imagine why she didn’t opt to stand in Syon, the ward she represented previously and the one in which she lives. Any thoughts anyone?

Comments are closed.


