Andrew Boff

Feltham & Heston had its Christmas Party yesterday evening and our Guest was Andrew Boff who is one of the List London Assembly Members.  I like Andrew a lot and supported him in his attempts back in 99 or 2000 to be the Conservative Candidate for London Mayor.  He is a former Leader of Hillingdon Council but now lives in Hackney.

I did not take many pictures but here are two (taken towards the end of the evening):

Andrew is second from left.

Most had left by the time that the following was taken.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Andrew Boff”

  1. Mark Savage Says:

    Glad you had a good party party, Mark, but goodness me the venue is looking a bit cheerless, isn’t it? Where are the Christmas decorations, trees and lights- or was this a deliberate carbon-saving measure in Cop 15 week?

    Otherwise, I hope this austerity isn’t a sign of things to come in the weeks leading up to Christmas. I must say how cheering the Christmas lights are at all three communities in the West Area this year- Staines Road Bedfont in particular looks a delight, but both Feltham and Hanworth are also very pleasing. From what I understand though, these decorations were not Conservative initiatives. I wonder how you would stand on public decorations if re-elected next year?

    As for Andrew Boff, well no doubt he’s a very nice man, but unfortunately I couldn’t help my first thought being of his namesake, the foil to Rowan Atkinson in the brilliant Barclaycard ads (not that I otherwise think there’s anything brilliant about Barclaycard!), and even more so in “Johnny English”. Mmm, the idea of a quiet but common sense helper trying to sort out the mess his boss gets him into; there must be a political metaphor there somewhere.

  2. Mark Bowen Says:

    The venue was the Heston Community Centre.

    I am not entirely certain what you mean about the decorations in Staines Road, Feltham & Hanworth not being Conservative initiatives. My understanding is that these were agreed by the West Area Committee (on which the Conservatives are the majority). Cllrs Hills & Nakamura have been strong advocates also. I do not recall which individuals first instigated this or even whether it proceeded the current committee?

    I am strong supporter of Christmas decorations in areas such as the ones you mention.

Comments are closed.


