Lest we Forget!

Turn out was very good at the various Remembrance Sunday Services today and I saw this for myself this afternoon in Feltham.  I was informed through friends that there was up to 300 people in Bedfont and 700 in Hanworth.  This is really great to know.  As I said a number of times in conversation with people, some of the recent tragedies in Afghanistan do serve to reinforce that today is not just about remembering those who gave their lives during the first & second world wars.  I am not saying anyone has ever organised it to be that way but anecdotally I think a lot of people thought that this was the case a couple of years ago.

On my walk from the High Street to the Scout Hut, I noticed the following.  Firstly, the following Hounslow Homes sign needs to be removed as it is untidy and out of date:

IMAGE_720

The following sign again is out of date but I know that the West Area Committee has approved a request to replace this and a couple of others.

IMAGE_721

The following overgrowth is on the High Street between the junctions with Poplar Way and Elmood Avenue:

IMAGE_722

As people who know me will testify, I do like to see the flag flown and was pleased to see it at the Scout Hut.

IMAGE_723

Also time, I reported the tagging on the bollards in Helen Avenue (junction with Harlington Road West):

IMAGE_724

Lest we Forget!

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Lest we Forget!”

  1. Mark Savage Says:

    Good to meet you face to face and shake hands yesterday at the 4th Feltham Scout Hut, Mark. I presume you know the freehold is actually owned by the borough, so they would have been in trouble if they weren’t flying the flag yesterday 🙂

    Actually, I think you’ll find that Scout Association groups still raise and lower the flag at most meetings. The original 4th Feltham B.P. Scout Group sadly folded some years ago due to a lack of leaders, but the current group, which respects Muslim tradition but as far as I know is open to all, brought the hut back into action for its original purpose some years ago, which has to be good news.

    By the way, the B.P. bit has nothing to do with sponsorship from a certain oil company just outside the council’s purlieu, but to founder Lord Robert Baden-Powell, of course. The initials were used to distinguish ‘ordinary’ scout groups from ‘sponsored’ ones, usually by church groups, like 2nd Bedfont (St Mary’s Own).

    The Feltham War Memorial service was certainly a solemnly beautiful occasion. My brother estimated 400 in attendance- there were 150 in uniform. How proud we should certainly be at having two holders of the Victoria Cross living in the borough, who once again graced the service with their presence, before coming down to the scout hut for refreshments. I wonder if the council might officially invite Joanna Lumley to join them next year, or would that be to trivialise the occasion with celebrity too much?

Comments are closed.


