Alternative sites for Skills Centre?

I got a mention in the letters page in the Chronicle for the second time in as many weeks.  The author is a constituent of mine and he and I have exchanged emails in the past.  I very much hope that he reads my blog.

My view has not changed.  I cannot think of a better way to raise the profile of skills training in Feltham by relocating the Skills Centre to a High Street location.  I am already on record as having stated that I did not like the images that were presented to the West Area Monitoring Committee and expect something different as part of a planning application that has been submitted.  My constituent said, “so what will happen when the skills centre attracts additional students from surrounding boroughs?”  My response is that I expect a deliberate effort on the part of West Thames College to increase the proportion of local students i.e. from the Feltham, Bedfont & Hanworth area.  I also would expect it to be chepear for students to catch one of the many buses than to drive and pay to park.

However, and most crucially, reference was made to alternative sites near public transport and I would be interested to know where these are?

I hope that this discussions remains current as this scheme is being looked at by the Learning & Skills Council.

Tags: , ,


