My view on sex education

Talk of this being made compulsory for those children from the age of 5.  There are various articles on this: Guardian, BBC News etc.

I have never been entirely comfortable with sex education and my instincts are that this is a matter for the family.  Many think this naive on the basis that not all families deliver on this with their children.  With reluctance, I can accept this as possibly needing to offer for those 13 or so or more.  I would also add that I have never seen anything – in this country – that shows that more sex education leads to a reduction in teenage pregnancy etc.

In the Guardian it states that by 11, “Teachers should be ready to answer questions about sexual intercourse.”

This does not sound appropriate to me.  I get the impression that most parents are in favour of Sex Education but would share my concerns about this latest move.

Tags:


