Currently in the USA!

This is why there have not been postings since Tuesday.

Of course, I am keeping a close eye on the Presidential Election.  I am going for John McCain.  In a shuttle bus earlier today, a few of us were talking and I was the only one backing McCain (it is New York so I am not too worried).

Just seen a page on this and remarks from Boris Johnson.  Comments like this (assuming that they have not been mis-reported) are ones I find very annoying.  These crass remarks insult the undoubted ability of Barack Obama as much as anything else.  He should be considered on his abilities alone and not because of the colour of his skin.  The vast majority of people would think it crazy if a well known politician claimed that a McCain victory would be a “fantastic boost” for white people.  The same should apply here.

It is also insulting to assume that black people automatically support Barack Obama and it reminds me of the time when someone told me he could guarantee that I did not know a black person who supported the Conservative Party.  It was not even worth giving these claims the time of day!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Currently in the USA!”

  1. Adrian Lee Says:

    Mark,

    I fully agree with you. It is like saying that the election of John McCain would give a tremendous boost to pensioners!

    I support John McCain because he is the candidate closest to my political opinions. End of story. I am a conservative and in the US I would be a registered Republican voter.

    That, of course, does not mean that I would blindly support everything that the party came out with. For instance, I think that McCain has got it very wrong on the Climate Change issue. However, I would broadly support the US conservative movement.

    However, let me be clear, if Condy Rice were the Republican nominee I would fully support her. Indeed, I would be more than happy to support Dr. Alan Keyes for the VP slot on the McCain ticket. Race has got nothing to do with it for me.

    Obama is a dithering, weak, egotistical social democrat who changes his political opinions as frequently as his underwear. Personally, I think that he would make a crummy US President and that his administration would soon resemble that of Jimmy Carter.

    Whilst McCain is no Reagan, he would get my vote in November.

  2. Phil Andrews Says:

    “…and it reminds me of the time when someone told me he could guarantee that I did not know a black person who supported the Conservative Party”

    The self-righteous arrogance of the person making this statement is truly beyond belief, but sadly typical of the New Labour mentality which instinctively assumes that there is no way to good race relations other than through them.

    It is an arrogance which is spectacularly misplaced when one goes on to consider the damage which New Labour often actually does to race relations in the community in its efforts to get itself elected to office.

    I remember canvassing during the Hounslow Central by-election in 2000 and being told by a young lady with a very smug and self-assured persona that she knew “everything there is to know about the Independent Community Association” (she meant the Independent Community Group) and that “if that Phil Andrews ever came to my doorstep I would give him a piece of my mind”.

    Strange though it may sound, I wasn’t entirely surprised when the Labour candidate at that election later bragged to me that she was one of his activists and that she “controlled” the local residents’ association.

Comments are closed.


