Best Practice weekend in Nottingham

Was in Nottingham yesterday, along with Councillor Barbara Harris, at an excellent event held by the Conservative Councillors Association (CCA).  As the title indicates, I was there to listen to some of the brilliant things going on elsewhere in the country, from campaigning techniques to service delivery when in administration.  It is good to challenge ourselves and there was some really good debate.  I got a lot out of it.  It also reinforced to me that the agenda being pursued by the coalition in the London Borough of Hounslow is the right one.  No longer is Hounslow London’s forgotten Borough.

I later discovered that the venue was on former British Coal land.  I got talking to a former employee of British Coal and we both agreed that the pit closures of the early 90s was not one of the finest moments for the Conservative Party.

Tags: , , ,


