A New Mayor in the London Borough of Hounslow

The Annual General Meeting of the Council was held yesterday evening.  Councillor Genevieve Hibbs was voted in as the Mayor for the next year.  I thought that she addressed the Council very well and I wish her all the best for the forthcoming year.

It is worth saying something about her predecessor, Councillor Andy Morgan-Watts.  I thought that he was a truly first class Mayor, indeed one the best I have ever seen or known.  It was always very clear how much the role meant to him.  He Chaired meetings very well and, more importantly, he engaged with hundreds (maybe thousands) of people during his year and raised an incredible amount of money for the Mayor’s charity.  I wish him the best for the future also.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “A New Mayor in the London Borough of Hounslow”

  1. Cllr Paul Fisher Says:

    Well said Mark,I am sure Genevieve Hibbs will do extremely well and as a fellow Community Group Cllr I am very proud indeed of both her and Shirley of course.

    I could not agree more with your comments about Andrew Morgan Watts as he was a credit to the Borough and will be a very hard act to follow I expect for many years.

  2. Mark Bowen Says:

    I think that the Mayor has made an excellent choice in her Deputy, Councillor Shirley Fisher, just as Andy Morgan-Watts chose very well in Councillor Caroline Andrews.

    Paul – can I be the first blogger to congratulate you on becomming a member of the Executive at the London Borough of Hounslow? I look forward to working with you.

  3. Cllr Paul Fisher Says:

    Thanks very much Mark,I am looking forward to the challenges ahead and working with such a professional and hard working team.

  4. Phil Andrews Says:

    “Paul – can I be the first blogger to congratulate you on becomming a member of the Executive at the London Borough of Hounslow?”

    Ouch! But I congratulated him in the pub!!

Comments are closed.


