Houses in Multiple Occupation

I have been made aware of the following news release from the Communities & Local Government.

I am really pleased to see that the Government are going to look at this.  Credit should go to the Labour MP, Alan Whitehead, for raising this in a Private Members Bill.

Never have I known an issue where there is such a dichotomy between the concerns of residents and the response of Parliamentarians.  I am at a loss to understand this as other Councillors in London, of all parties, share the concern that the massive growth has had, both in terms of the decrease in the supply of family housing and in terms of Community Cohesion.  HMOs, of course, have a huge part to play in providing access to housing for many people, especially those who are of lower incomes or are key workers.  But we have got to get the balance right.

Please note that Hounslow is looking towards additional licensing in five wards, one of which is Feltham North.  Please respond before 30 April.

All HMOs must be of a good standard but beyond that Urban Areas need families and need to retain families.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Houses in Multiple Occupation”

  1. Richard Tyler Says:

    Please see the website of the National HMO Lobby for the campaigning undertaken by local communities – for nearly a decade!

  2. Mark Bowen Says:

    A warm welcome to you! I am really pleased you found my blog and let me know of your existence. Thank you.

    I noted in London, the only Member is “Cleveland Road Area Residents Action Group”. Could you let me know which London Borough they are from?

    I am very happy to work with anyone in raising the profile of this very serious issue on the political agenda.

Comments are closed.


