Time for us to get tribal in London?

Very pleased that Boris Johnson is making this line of argument (not had time to read the whole speech yet but have read the quoted section).  London needs and deserves a better deal.  Of course, I do not deny that there are problems elsewhere in the United Kingdom.  But I do deny the accuracy of any claim that does not accept that some of the biggest problems in the UK are in various London Boroughs.

I sometimes feel that we need to be far more tribal in London.  Is anyone in any doubt of how reliant the Government is on its Tartan and Taff Armies?

In a previous posting, I quoted the former Labour MP, Denzil Davies.  His reference to the economic deficit ring true again. 

At the Feltham & Heston Association AGM last Friday, someone raised the fact that parking charges will be scrapped at Welsh Hospitals.  I was asked whether I supported scrapping these charges in England.  My answer was on the lines of:

a) It would depend what this cost.
b) It would depend what the impact would be of that cost.
c) Once the Genie is out of the bottle it is very difficult to go back on things like this.
d) The current settlement whereby the Welsh can afford to do this but the same not applying here in England is unsustainable!

Tags: , ,


