Woodland Fun Day at Hanworth Park

Trees for Cities in partnership with Green Corridor, CIP and Hounslow Council have been undertaking a three-year community tree-planting project within Hanworth Park.

The first stage (year 1) was celebrated by tree planting with a Woodland Fun Day last Saturday.  I do not think that the weather could have been much better, though I wore my hat that has received quite a bit of commentary of late.  I took my daughter along and, as you will see, she had her face nose painted.

mixed-photos-0708-426.jpg

Compared to many other London Boroughs, we are very lucky with the amount of green spaces that we have.  Nevertheless, I do like initiatives like this, especially the exposure that this gives to younger residents.

I am informed that 1500 whips were planted at the event with further whips to be planted by corporate volunteers and school children.  Many congratulations (and thanks) to all!

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Woodland Fun Day at Hanworth Park”

  1. Daniel Jones Says:

    Nice to see you’re concerned for the environment! Lovely picture also

  2. Graham Newell Says:

    Suh a pity all that time and effort has been wasted since the new parks maintenance contractors have strimmed all the trees away over the last couple of weeks.

  3. Mark Bowen Says:

    Thank you for your posting. I can confirm that an enquiry has been made about this matter. I hope to have a response by the end of the week.

Comments are closed.


