Latest on the US Presidential elections!

The race for the two nominations appear to be the closest in my lifetime.  The stunning victory for Barack Obama in South Carolina may have swung the pendulum back in his favour in the race for the Democrat nomination.

Who am I backing?  Unlike a number of Conservative Party colleagues, I am not comfortable in supporting a Democrat.  My choice for the GOP nomination from the start has been Rudy Giuliani but I have never known a campaign like his before, where he has adopted such a high risk strategy in putting all of his focus on Florida.  The indications from polls are that this has not been successful.  I am sure he is worried to see that the Governor for Florida has thrown his weight behind Senator McCain.  Senator McCain has always come across to me as a good man but I do have difficulty with politicians who entertain an amnesty of any kind on illegal immigration.

For any Conservatives looking for some intellectual stimulation or just something different from the GOP tent, read more about Congressman Ron Paul.  Whenever, I am in the US, I like to watch Meet the Press on MSNBC (I have recently discovered I can pick this up on Sky Digital).  I recommend the interview with Ron Paul (see link to netcast on the right side of the page.

Tags: , , ,


